When Camels Fly (Parched, Book 1)

A mother's fatal shot. A daughter's deadly choice.

When archaeologist Grace Madison's adult daughter is kidnapped in Israel, Grace knows she'll have to break almost all Ten Commandments to bring her home alive.

Seconds after Grace shoots Maggie's abductor, a handsome shepherd drops from the sky to kill a second assassin. The women's world crumbles in two blinks of an eye.

Running for their lives, they quickly unearth a global evil poised to sacrifice millions. Their pursuit of justice plunges them into a vortex of intrigue and espionage, endangering friends and family while the world teeters toward disaster. As they crisscross the "cradle of civilization," they unexpectedly extinguish old flames and ignite new loves.

How far will they have to go to save everyone and everything they hold dear? From the shadowy alleyways of old Jerusalem to a congested caravanserai in Jordan, and from elderly operatives hiding under Masada to youthful rescuers disguised as snake charmers in Jericho, the mother-daughter team soon realizes that nothing is as it seems. Even each other.

Because sometimes, choosing what's right is all that's left.

The Brothers' Keepers (Parched, Book 2)

A friend's deliberate deception. A family's desperate dilemma.

When a dear friend disappears without warning, archaeologist Grace Madison exposes his deadly deception—only to realize that it endangers everything she cherishes.

While cataloging looted antiquities in Brussels, Grace learns that her son's bride has been attacked in Switzerland. Her day careens from bad to catastrophic when daughter Maggie, a hydrologist, disappears in France.

Coincidence is a luxury that Grace cannot afford. Particularly when near-fatal history—saturated in espionage—is repeating itself.

Family members convene in Paris, where they discover that they possess a relic that holds the key to the danger consuming them. Embedded like a taproot in the Ancient Near East, the cuneiform clay tablet is their only lifeline. But before they can save themselves, they must first find and rescue their elderly friend—if he'll let them.

On an epic journey following two brothers, crossing three continents, and spanning four thousand years, the Madison family risks it all—to save it all. They rediscover and reinvest in love. Offer and receive redemption. And summon the courage to face truth: about themselves, each other, and the difference in right and wrong.

Because sometimes, doing what's right is all that's left.

N. B. Horton will release the third book in the Parched series in the fall of 2016. Fourth and fifth books will follow. Thank you for your interest!
© 2013 N.B.Horton